Vienna: inside the world’s most beautiful library

Disney films were a large part of my childhood, and one of my all-time favourite moments was in Beauty and the Beast where Beast shows Belle his spectacular library. As a life-long book lover, I always dreamed of seeing a library like that myself one day. In the State Hall of Austria’s National Library, I got my wish.

Austria’s capital city Vienna is full to bursting with palaces, museums and galleries, none of which I find particularly enticing on holiday. But I decided to make an exception for Austria’s National Library (Österreichische Nationalbibliothek), which at 7 euros for an adult ticket is half the price of even the cheapest ticket for Schönbrunn Palace.

Based in Hofburg Palace, the library is probably just as impressive as any room in Schönbrunn – but with a welcome focus on books rather than royalty.

Vienna-06287
Vienna-06292
Vienna-06290
DSC06305
Vienna-06311
Vienna-06295

The books alone look beautiful, their gilded spines gleaming in the spotlights. Wooden step-ladders cast intriguing shadows, and golden accents shine. Between the tall, double-stacked bookcases stand polished marble columns, expertly crafted ivory statues and intricately painted globes. Even the patterned floors are impressive, particularly illuminated by light rays from the long windows.

But for the best view, you need to look up at the spectacular painted ceiling.

Vienna-06303-3
Vienna-06280
Vienna-06298
Vienna-06281
Vienna-06302

Once you’re done admiring the room itself, the State Hall also has information boards about Duchess Elizabeth Sisi, who was Empress of Austria and Queen of Hungary between 1854 and 1898. It’s a nice bonus that makes visiting the library even more worthwhile.

Have you visited any particularly beautiful libraries that rival this one? Let me know in the comments!

All text and photos (c) Juliet Langton, 2017. All rights reserved.

5 thoughts on “Vienna: inside the world’s most beautiful library

  1. Wow, that’s amazing!! And it’s just like the library in the Disney film – I wonder if that was inspired by this one? Are the books actually used, or just for show? X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my God I would never ever leave. I haven’t been to any library that would rival this one, but I did find the most amazing bookshop the last time I was in Galway – just a treasure trove of books! Scrubs had to practically carry me out while I dug my nails into the door frames!

    Like

Leave a reply

